Organisation Website Contact Number
Business Link www.businesslink.gov.uk 0845 600 9006
Citizens Advice Bureau   www.citizensadvice.org.uk 020 7 833 2181  
Companies House www.companieshouse.gov.uk 0870 333 3636
Consumer Credit Counseling Service (CCCS) www.cccs.co.uk 0800 138 1111 
Employment Tribunals www.employmenttribunals.gov.uk 0845 795 9775
Financial Services Authority www.fsa.gov.uk 0207 066 1000
Gambling Commission www.gamblingcommission.gov.uk 0121 230 6666
Government Support Appeals Service www.appeals-service.gov.uk N/A
HMRC Courts Service www.hmcourts-service.gov.uk/ 0207 189 2000
Insolvency Service www.insolvency.gov.uk 020 7291 6895
Job Centre Plus www.jobcentreplus.gov.uk 0845 606 0234
Legal Services Commission www.legalservices.gov.uk 0207 759 0000
Legal Services Ombudsman www.olso.org 0161 839 7262
Local Government Ombudsman www.lgo.org.uk 0845 602 1983
Ministry of Justice www.justice.gov.uk 0207 210 8500
National Debtline www.nationaldebtline.co.uk 0808 808 4000 
National Savings and Investments www.nsandi.com 0845 964 5000
Ofcom (Office of Communications) www.ofcom.org.uk 0207 981 3000
Office for National Statistics www.statistics.gov.uk 0845 601 3034
Office of Fair Trading (OFT)   www.oft.gov.uk 0207 211 8000 
Official Government Website for Citizens www.direct.gov.uk  
Regulation Standards Service www.betterregulation.gov.uk 0207 215 5976
Self Assessment www.hmrc.gov.uk/sa/index.htm 0845 900 0444
The Banking Ombudsman   www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk 0207 404 9944
The Bankruptcy Association   www.theba.org.uk 01524 64305 
The Local Government Ombudsman   www.lgo.org.uk 0207 915 3210 

PREFER TO TALK TO SOMEONE INSTEAD?

OPEN 24 HOURS A DAY - 7 DAYS A WEEK!

Write Off Unaffordable Debts

In most circumstances an award of Bankruptcy will allow you to write off most of what you cannot afford to repay, i.e. liabilties such as unsecured loans and credit card debts will be dealt with by your Trustee. Note: There are some debts that cannot be written off. Click here* for more information on the limitations.
 

Free From Debt Pressures

Unlike a Trust Deed Scotland, Sequestration can make you totally free from provable debts, although you will have to make a contribution from your income for 3 years if you can afford to. Your Trustee takes over dealing with your creditors and you will be totally debt free subject to some limitations depending on your circumstances.
 

Government Legislation

A Sequestration is under the control of the Scottish Government and is intended to help people who are struggling wither finances. An award of Bankruptcy is not a debt management plan or IVA, meaning there are no regular monthly repayments to make, if you have no surplus income after meeting your normal monthly outgoings.

News

 

Testimonials